By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

APSA awards six development grants to Asia Pacific film-makers

The recipients were announced at the Asia Pacific Screen Awards yesterday (Nov 24).

Six script development grants totalling more than $140,000 have been awarded to film-makers from the Asia Pacific region.  

The grants are split into two funds - the Motion Picture Association and Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) Academy Film Fund and the new APSA Children’s Film Fund, a partnership with Manila based 4 Boys Films to support films for and about children.

Both funds are available exclusively to APSA Academy members.

The recipients of the MPA/APSA Academy Film Fund, who will each receive $25,000 towards script development for their new feature film projects are:

Shawkat Amin Korki (Iraq/Kurdistan) for Memories on Stone
Peyman Moadi (Iran) for Those Days
Maryam Ebrahimi [pictured] (Iran/Sweden) Burqas Behind Bars
Pryas Gupta (India) The Cricket Tree

The recipients for the APSA Children’s Film Fund who will each receive $20,000 are:
Garin Nugroho (Indonesia) for The Seen and The Unseen.
Songtaijia (People’s Republic of China/Tibet) for The Stone with Nine Eyes

Asghar Farhadi’s A Separation was one of the four projects to receive funding in 2010, going on to win the Golden Bear at Berlin and this year’s APSA Best Feature Film Award.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!