Six animated short films have been nominated for this year’s Cartoon d’Or award, which will be presented at an awards ceremony on Sept 15, during the Cartoon Forum in Sopot, Poland.

Three of the six animated shorts are from Germany, with the other films from Poland, the Netherlands and Ireland.

The winning director will receive €10,000.


  • Mobile, dir Verena Fels (Germany)
  • Paths of Hate, dir Damian Nenow (Poland)
  • Pivot, dir André Bergs (Netherlands)
  • The External World, dir David O’Reilly (Ireland)
  • The Gruffalo, dir Jakob Schuh & Max Lang (UK / Germany) [pictured]
  • The Little Boy and the Beast, dirs Johannes Weiland & Uwe Heidschötter (Germany) 

The six shorts were chosen by a jury composed of  Stéphane Bernasconi (France), Tony Loeser (Germany) and Victor Maldonado (Spain).