The Academy Of Motion Picture Arts And Sciences said on Thursday (29) that seven writers and three writing teams are finallists in the Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in screenwriting.

The Nicholl Committee will read and judge the scripts and may award five up to five of the $30,000 fellowships. This year there were a record 6,730 submissions.

This years finallists are:
Chris Bessounian and Tianna Langham – Guns And Saris;
Dion Cook – Cutter;
K E Greenberg – Blood Bound;
Ehud Lavski – Parasite;
John MacInnes – Outside The Wire;
Aaron Marshall – Fig Hunt: The Quest For Battle Armor Star Captain;
Khurram Mozaffar – A Man Of Clay;
Matthew Murphy – Unicorn;
Abel Vang and Burlee Vang – The Tiger’s Child; and
Paul Vicknair and Chris Shafer – A Many Splintered Thing.

The fellowships will be presented on Nov 3 at a ceremony in Beverly Hills.