The Academy Of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has invited 115 artists and executives to swell its membership ranks as voting members in 2007.

Membership policies adopted by the Academy in 2003 to limit the number of new members would have allowed 150 new members this year but various branch committees endorsed fewer candidates than were proposed to them. Voting membership has now held steady at just under 6,0000 for the past four years.

'Some interesting changes are occurring,' said Academy executive director Bruce Davis. 'Like the recent lists of Oscar nominees, our last few membership invitation lists have been increasingly international.'

Among the international actors being invited in 2007 are Daniel Craig, Michael Sheen and Chiwetel Ejiofor from the UK. Maribel Verdu from Spain and this year's nominee Adriana Barraza from Mexico.

They join US actors such as Jennifer Aniston, Steve Carell, Aaron Eckhart, Danny Huston and veteran Canadian Christopher Plummer as well as other 2006 nominees Eddie Murphy, Jennifer Hudson, Jackie Earle Haley and Ryan Gosling.

Paul Greengrass and Simon West from the UK join the directors branch alongside Peter Berg, DJ Caruso, Antoine Fuqua and Monte Hellman.

Spain's Agustin Almodovar joins Jonathan Glickman, Jane Rosenthal, Jack Rapke and Julia Chasman among others as new producer members.

Executives joining the Academy include Greg Foster (IMAX), Adam Goodman (DreamWorks), Yair Landau (Sony) and Andrew W Gumpert (Sony).

The documentary branch welcomes Steve James, Nathaniel Kahn and Brett Morgen among others.

JJ Abrams, Michael Arndt, Guillermo Arriaga, Florian Henckel Von Donnersmarck, Patrick Marber, William Monahan, Peter Morgan, Billy Ray and Erin Cressida Wilson are the new writer members.

Among new public relations Academy members are Valerie Van Galder from Sony and Sarah Greenberg from Lionsgate.