The American Film Institute (AFI) has announced its nominations for the first annual AFI Awards 2001.which will be presented on Jan 5, 2002, in Los Angeles. Two 13-member committees - one representing films and one representing TV - made the nominations; a 100-person AFI jury will select the award-winners.

The film nominations are as follows:

AFI Movie of the Year
A Beautiful Mind, Black Hawk Down, In The Bedroom, The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring, The Man Who Wasn't There, Memento, Monster's Ball, Moulin Rouge, Mulholland Drive, Shrek

AFI Actor of the Year
Russell Crowe in A Beautiful Mind
Billy Bob Thornton in The Man Who Wasn't There
Denzel Washington in Training Day
Tom Wilkinson in In The Bedroom

AFI Actress of the Year
Halle Berry in Monster's Ball
Stockard Channing in The Business Of Strangers
Sissy Spacek in In The Bedroom
Naomi Watts in Mulholland Drive

AFI Featured Actor of the Year
Steve Buscemi in Ghost World
Brian Cox in LIE
Gene Hackman in The Royal Tenenbaums
Tony Shalhoub in The Man Who Wasn't There

AFI Featured Actress of the Year
Cate Blanchett in Bandits
Jennifer Connelly in A Beautiful Mind
Cameron Diaz in Vanilla Sky
Frances O'Connor in AI Artificial Intelligence

AFI Director of the Year
Robert Altman, Gosford Park
Todd Field, In The Bedroom
David Lynch, Mulholland Drive
Ridley Scott, Black Hawk Down

AFI Screenwriter of the Year
Rob Festinger & Todd Field, In The Bedroom
Christopher Nolan, Memento
Akiva Goldsman, A Beautiful Mind
Daniel Clowes & Terry Zwigoff, Ghost World

AFI Cinematographer of the Year
Ericson Core, The Fast And The Furious
Roger Deakins, The Man Who Wasn't There
Slawomir Idziak, Black Hawk Down
Janusz Kaminski, AI Artificial Intelligence

AFI Editor of the Year
Jill Bilcock, Moulin Rouge
Dody Dorn, Memento
Pietro Scalia, Black Hawk Down
Tim Squyres, Gosford Park

AFI Production Designer of the Year
Stephen Altman, Gosford Park
Rick Carter, AI Artificial Intelligence
Grant Major, The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring
Arthur Max, Black Hawk Down

AFI Digital Artist of the Year
Robert Legato, Nick Davis & Roger Guyett, Harry Potter & The Sorcerer's Stone
Jim Rygiel, The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring
Scott Farrar & Dennis Muren, AI Artificial Intelligence
Bob Sabiston, Waking Life

AFI Composer of the Year
Craig Armstrong, Moulin Rouge
Angelo Badalamenti, Mulholland Drive
Patrick Doyle, Gosford Park
Howard Shore, The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring