The cultural council of Spain's Andalusian regional government has signed an agreement with the European Commission's General Direction of Exterior Relations to join the Euro-Mediterranean Audiovisual Development Program, dubbed the MEDEA program.

With a budget of $4.9m (euro5m) to be spread out over three years, MEDEA aims to support the development and co-production of films and documentaries across Europe and the Mediterranean.

The 27 countries encompassed in the programme include 15 EU members and 12 other Mediterranean countries including Egypt, Syria, Israel and Turkey.