His closing night film 127 Hours will also be one of 11 features competing for the London Film Festival’s Best Film Award; Patricia Clarkson to head up the jury.

Danny Boyle is to presented with the BFI Fellowship award at the 54th BFI London Film Festival’s second awards ceremony on 27 October.

His latest film, 127 Hours will close the festival and is also one of 11 films to be shortlisted for the festival’s Best Film Award. He said he was “shocked, flattered and delighted to receive the Fellowship on behalf of everyone who has helped me make the film, the successful ones and the not so successful ones.”

The 10 other titles competing for the best film award are:

Mike Leigh’s Another Year
Joanna Hogg’s Archipelago
Darren Aronofsky‘s Black Swan
Alexei Popogrebsky’s How I Ended This Summer
Tom Hooper’s The King’s Speech
Kelly Reichardt’s Meek’s Cut-Off
Mark Romanek’s Never Let Me Go
Xavier Beauvois’ Of Gods And Men
Catherin Breillat’s The Sleeping Beauty
Apitchatpong Weerasethak’s Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives

The jury for the award will be chaired by US actress Patricia Clarkson. Her fellow jurors include Gabriel Byrne, Sandy Powell and Shekhar Kapur. The winner of the best film award at last year’s inaugural ceremony went to Jacques Audiard’s A Prophet.

Meanwhile, the shortlist for the best British newcomer award has also been announced and is made up of director/writer Brian Welsh (In Our Name), director/writer Clio Barnard (The Arbor), director/writer Richard Ayoade (Submarine), producer Michelle Eastwood (In Our Name), producer Tracy O’Riordan (The Arbor), actor Conor McCarron (Neds), actor Craig Roberts (Submarine), actress Manjinder Virk (The Arbor).  

David Morrissey, Andrea Calderwood, Antonia Bird, Tony Grisoni and Screen’s editor Mike Goodridge will be sitting on the jury for the Best British Newcomer award.

Kevin Macdonald will head up the jury for the Grierson Award for Best Documentary. The shortlisted films are: Janus Metz’ Armadillo,  Renaud Barret, Florent de la Tullaye’s Benda Bilili, Aaron Schock’s Circo, Felix Fernandex de Castro’s Maria And I, Eduardo De La Serna’s The Peddler, Kim Longinotto’s Pink Saris, Amir Bar-Lev’s The Tillman Story and Lucy Walker’s Waste Land.

The ceremony will take place on October 27 at London’s Jerwood Hall as part of the LFF. It will be broadcast on SkyArts 2 on November 7.