The 26th Deauville film festival (September 1-10) will feature a tribute to Clint Eastwood to coincide with the premiere of his latest film as a director, Space Cowboys, starring Tommy Lee Jones, James Garner and Donald Sutherland who will also attend.

Other honourees of the American film festival include producer Dino de Laurentiis for U-571 and Samuel L. Jackson for Shaft and Rules Of Engagement. Other stars expected to attend include John Cusack, Edward Norton, Morgan Freeman, Michelle Yeoh, Elisabeth Shue and Harrison Ford.

Leslie Caron, Mickey Rooney, Gregory Hines, Joel Hines and Eleonore Powell are also lined up to attend a special "Tribute to Broadway".

Titles to be screened in the Premieres' section, dedicated to European or French previews of studio films, the non-competitive Panorama section and the two competition sections, dedicated to US independent fare, will be announced soon.

Four French first efforts - Yvan Gauthier's Les Alienes, Virginie Wagon's Le Secret, Orso Miret's De L'Histoire Ancienne and Francoise Decaux's Du Cote Des Filles - will compete for the Michel d'Ornano Award, which will be presented by the MPA's Jack Valenti.