The European Film Academy has announced the nominations for this year’s European Discovery award, which recognises a director’s first full length feature film.

The five nominees are:

  • Skandar Copti and Yaron Shani’s Ajami, (Germany / Israel)
  • George Ovashvili’s The Other Bank, (Georgia / Kazakhstan)
  • Peter Strickland’s Katalin Varga, (Romania / UK / Hungary)
  • Juliette Garcia’s Be Good, (France / Denmark)
  • Ozcan Alper’s Autumn (Turkey / Germany)

The nominees were decided by a committee made up of EFA board members - UK director Pawel Pawlikowski, Dutch producer Els Vandevorst and French film festival founder Pierre-Henri Deleau - along with the director of the Danish CPH:PIX film festival, Jacob Neiiendam and FIPRESCI critics Dana Linssen from the Netherlands and Alin Taciyan from Turkey.

All 2000 members of the European Film Academy will now be able to vote for the winner, which will be announced at the 22nd European Film Awards on December 12 in Germany’s Ruhr Metropolis.