Lars Von Trier's for Dogville, Francois Ozon for Swimming Pool and Dagur Kari for Noi Albinoi are among the directors shortlisted for this year's European Film Awards announced today.

The annual poll to find European cinemagoers favourite director and male and female star, also includes Patrice Leconte for L'Homme Du Train, Fernando Leon de Arananda for Mondays In The Sun as well as best actor nods for Rowan Atkinson in Johny English and Johnny Hallyday and Jean Rochefort for their roles in L'Homme Du Train.

Vincent Perez and Penelope Cruz, stars of this year's limp Cannes' opener Fanfan La Tulipe are also nominated in the best European actor and actress categories alongside Charlotte Rampling for her role in Swimming Pool.

European cinema goers will vote on their favourite director, actor and actress and the winner will be announced at the European Film Awards in December.The gala event will be transmitted by broadcasters across Europe and around the world.

This year the awards will be sponsored by Jameson's Irish Whiskey, marking the first time the event has been backed by a major sponsor.