Five well known film industry figures have been appointed by European Film Promotion (EFP) to the jury for the Berlin Film Festival's Shooting Stars programme.

The EFP, which is supported by the MEDIA Programme of the European Union, has appointed Belgian director Marion Hänsel, Spanish producer Antonio Saura, British film historian Peter Cowie, Portuguese casting director Patricia Vasconcelos and Macedonian actress Labina Mitevska who was one of the first Shooting Stars in Berlin in 1998.

In early December the jury members will meet to decide on the new up-and-coming acting talent from across Europe. The jury will make its selection from among 18 new faces who have been nominated by the EFP member organisations. Ten finalists will be presented at the Berlinale at events from February 7-9.

Director Marion Hänsel said ' As a director I have been very exited and interested as soon as the Shooting Stars initiative started. I find it very important to give to young, talented actors an opportunity to show their work and put the best of them in the spot lights during the Berlin Film Festival. It is a great opportunity for us to discover newcomers from all over Europe.'