Aaron Kwok secured best actorfor the second consecutive year at the 43rd Golden Horse Awards in Taipei on Saturday night for his role in Patrick Tam's After This Our Exile.

The film also took best filmand best supporting actor for child star Goum Ian Iskandar. Jackie Chan hadpreviously won best actor two years in a row for Police Story 3 and CrimeStory in the 1990s.

Perhaps Lovescored more awards than Exile, withfour prizes for best director (Peter Chan), best actress (Zhou Xun), best cinematography(Peter Pau) and best original song (Chris Shum). Chan's partner Sandra Ng bothpresented and received the directing award in one of the highlights of theevening.

No single film dominatedthis year's award ceremony, with Taiwan movies getting the majority of the prizes intechnical categories. Cheng Yu-chieh's Venice entry Do Overtook three statues including the Formosa Film Award, a controversial prizepresented by the head of Taiwan's Government Information Office, Cheng Wen-tsan.

The only other films tosecure more than one statue were Johnnie To's Exiled and Feng Xiaogang's The Banquet. To's contemporaryspaghetti western took Audience Award and best action choregraphy, one of theevening's most competitive categories. Banquet's Tim Yip secured best art directorand best make-up & costume design.

The only high-profileChinese star to attend the award ceremony was Zhou Xun. Aaron Kwok, Carina Lau and Twins were theA-list stars from Hong Kong, with additional glamour provided by actress-singersKaren Mok and Coco Lee who both performed during the ceremony. Taiwan was represented with Kaneshiro Takeshi, Jay Chou andVivian Hsu.

The local jury dominated bycritics and academics was joined by two international film directors for thefinal selection process, Korea's Kim Sung-soo and Japan's Watanabe Takayoshi.


Best Feature Film:
Presenter: Takeshi Kaneshiro& John Woo
After This Our Exile (dir. Patrick Tam)

Best Director:
Presenter: Sandra Ng & EricTsang
Peter Chan (PerhapsLove)

Best Leading Actor:
Presenter: Chang Chen &Karen Mok
Aaron Kwok (AfterThis Our Exile)

Best Leading Actress:
Presenter: Aaron Kwok &Charlie Young
Zhou Xun (PerhapsLove)

Best Supporting Actor:
Presenter: Angelica Lee and ZhouXun
Goum Ian Iskander (AfterThis Our Exile)

Best Supporting Actress:
Presenter: Vivian Hsu &Francis Ng
Nikki Shie (Reflections)

Best New Performer:
Presenter: Jay Chou &Anthony Wong
Bryant Chang (EternalSummer)

Best Original Screenplay:
Presenter: Kubozuka Yosuke &Barbie Hsu ("Big S")
Ning Hao (CrazyStone)

Best Screenplay Adaptation:
Presenter: Kubozuka Yosuke &Barbie Hsu ("Big S")
Ning Dai & Zhang Yuan (LittleRed Flowers)

Best Cinematography:
Presenter: Ann Hui
Peter Pau (PerhapsLove)

Best Visual Effects:
Foo Sing-choong (Silk)

Best Art Direction:
Presenter: Wu Bai & CharlieYoung
Tim Yip (TheBanquet)

Best Make-up & CostumeDesign:
Presenter: Wu Bai & CharlieYoung
Tim Yip (TheBanquet)

Best Action Choreography:
Presenter: Tien Hsin &Chatman To
Ling Chun-pong & WongChi-wai (Exiled)

Best Original Film Score:
Presenter: Coco Lee
Lim Giong (DoOver)

Best Original Film Song:
Presenter: Coco Lee
Chris Shum (PerhapsLove)

Best Film Editing:
Presenter: Chang Chun-ning &Tsai Yueh-hsun
Chen Po-wen (DoOver)

Best Sound Effects:
Presenter: Terri Kwan &Eddie Pang
Tu Duu-chih, Guo Li-chi, KeYijun (amour-LEGENDE)

Best Documentary:
Presenter: Twins (Charlene Choi& Gillian Chung)
My Football Summer(dirs. Yang Li-chou & Chang Rong-ji)

Best Short Film:
Presenter: Twins (Charlene Choi & Gillian Chung)
TheSecret in the Wind (Nell Wang)

Formosa FilmAward:
Presenter: Cheng Wen-tsan &Kevin Chu
Do Over (TopFilm Company & Leader Entertainment)

FormosaFilmmaker Award:
Presenter: Cheng Wen-tsan &Kevin Chu
Kuo Li-chi [sound editor]

Audience Award:
Presenter: Mike He & MadameWang
Exiled (dir.Johnnie To)

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Presenter: Guey Lun-mei
Chen Tzu-fu [movie posterpainter and collector]