French box office sensation Vidocq was the big winner at this year's 34th annual edition of the Catalan International Film Festival of Sitges, walking away with best film, new director, effects, make-up and original soundtrack nods.

Directed by FX wizard Pitof, Vidocq stars Gerard Depardieu in a hi-tech suspense period tale which was entirely digitally produced.

Other top awards in the festival's main Fantastic competitive section went to Brad Anderson for best director (Session 9), Yuki Amami for best actress (Inugami), Richard Kelly for best script (Donnie Darko) and Grzegorz Kedzierski for best photography (Avalon).

Spanish actor Eduard Fernandez took home a widely applauded best actor prize for his work in 42nd Street Productions' psycho-thriller Fausto 5.0, a Catalan production. La Fura del Baus, the multimedia theater group which scripted and co-directed Fausto 5.0, won a special mention from the jury "for its innovative cinematographic conception."

Woody Allen's The Curse Of The Jade Scorpion won the public's prize for best film in the parallel Gran Angula section.

Fantastic Awards:
Best Film
: Vidocq, by Pitof
Best Director: Brad Anderson, for Session 9
Best Actor: Eduard Fernández, for Fausto 5.0
Best Actress: Yuki Amami, for Inugami
Best Script: Richard Kelly, for Donnie Darko
Best Cinematography: Grzegorz Kedzierski, for Avalon
Best Make Up Effects: Vidocq
Best Visual Effects: Pitof, for Vidocq
Best Banda Original Soundtrack: Bruno Colais, for Vidocq
Best Short Film: In Absentia, by Quay Brothers and Brasil, by Francisco Javier Gutierrez Diaz
Award to the Gran Angular Best Film: The Curse of the Jade Scorpion, by Woody Allen
Award to the Anima't Best Short Film: Strange Invaders, by Cordell Barker
Award to the Director Of the Best Animation Short Film: Le Processus, by Xavier de l'Hermuziere & Philippe Grammaticopoulos
Orient Express Award: Millennium Actress, by Satoshi Kon
Jose Luis Guarner Critic's Award: Kairo, by Kiyoshi Kurosawa,
Citizane Kane Award, to the Director Revelation: Pitof, by Vidocq, for its overwhelming visual conception and the use of new technologies
Melies d'Argent Award: Le Pacte Des Loups, by Christophe Gans

Nova Autoria Awards:
Best Director: Javier Ruiz, de l'ESCAC, for Treitum
Best Script: Luis Antonio Perez Paadin, de la UAB, for 53
Best Original Soundtrack: Ramon Salvia, de la UPF, for Opcion Incorrecta