The Gerardmer Fantastic Film Festival has announced its jury and film line-up for this year's event which runs from January 29 to February 2.

Presiding over the horror film festival jury is Exorcist director William Friedkin (pictured). Other jury members: Cube director Vincenzo Natali, Crimson Rivers writer Jean-Christophe Grange, actresses Jacqueline Bisset, Catherine Jacob (God Is Great, I'm Not) and Nadia Fares (Crimson Rivers) and French actors Sam Karmann (The Taste Of Others), Sami Bouajila (See How They Run), Tcheky Karyo (The Patriot) and Samuel Le Bihan (Brotherhood Of The Wolf)

Heading up the short films jury is actor/writer/director Pascal Legitimus along with The Raid director Djamel Bensalah, actor Bruno Todeschini and French actresses Melanie Laurent, Marilyn Canto and Anna Mouglalis

The competition begins on January 29 with Darkness from Spanish director Jaume Balaguero starring Anna Paquin, Lena Olin and Giancarlo Giannini. Other competition films are listed below.

Premiering films include Deathwatch from the UK's Michael J Basset, 28 Days Later from Danny Boyle, Cabin Fever by Eli Roth, Vincenzo Natali's Cypher starring Jeremy Northam and Lucy Liu and Gore Verbinski's US smash remake The Ring with Naomi Watts.

This year marks the tenth edition of Gerardmer, which will be celebrated under the heading 'Fear at the movies.' Discussions and special screenings are scheduled around the theme as well as a new sidebar 'Fantastic Hard' - a horror-meets-porn screening.

A special retrospective of the festival's first 10 years will include The Blair Witch Project, The Exorcist, Monsters, Inc. and Scary Movie while the winning films of the past years will also screen. They include: Peter Jackson's Heavenly Creatures, Wes Craven's Scream and Andrew Niccol's Gattaca.

Literary prizes and a plastic arts exhibition will round out the fest with the closing film by David Twohy, Below starring Matthew Davis and Olivia Williams

Dead End (USA-France) directed by Jean-Baptiste Andrea and Fabrice Canepa
May (USA) by Lucky McKee
Doctor Sleep (UK) by Nick Willing
Malefique (France) by Eric Valette
The Eye (Thailand) by Danny and Oxide Pang
The Gathering (UK) by Brian Gilbert
Dark Water (Japan) by Hideo Nakata
The Grudge (Japan) by Takashi Shimizu