Get Out

Get Out

Get Out leads the pack of Gotham nominees on four and will compete for the best picture prize with Call Me By Your Name, The Florida Project, Good Time, and I, Tonya.

The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) executives announced the nominees for the 27th Annual IFP Gotham Awards on Thursday morning.

Robert Pattinson is in contention for best actor with Good Time alongside the late Harry Dean Stanton for Lucky, while Mary J Blige with Mudbound and Timothée Chalamet with Call Me By Your Name are among the nominees for breakthrough actor.

In the breakthrough long-form category, Atlanta and Fleabag are among those vying for the prize. Mudbound was voted for the special jury award for acting ensemble for Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Blige, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks.

“This year offered a bountiful array of diverse, creative work that represents the very best from this community,” Joana Vicente, executive director of the IFP and Made in NY Media Center, said. “We’re thrilled to celebrate these achievements.” The awards will be handed out on November 27 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York.


Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)
Dir. Luca Guadagnino; pdrs. Peter Spears, Luca Guadagnino, Emilie Georges, Rodrigo Teixeira, Marco Morabito, James Ivory, Howard Rosenman

The Florida Project (A24)
Dir. Sean Baker; pdrs. Chris Bergoch, Kevin Chinoy, Andrew Duncan, Alex Saks, Francesca Silvestri, Shih-Ching Tsou

Get Out (Universal Pictures)
Dir. Jordan Peele; pdrs. Sean McKittrick, Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm, Jr., Jordan Peele

Good Time (A24)
Dirs. Josh and Benny Safdie; pdrs. Paris Kasidokostas-Latsis, Terry Dougas, Sebastian Bear-McClard, Oscar Boyson

I, Tonya (NEON)
Dir. Craig Gillespie; pdrs. Bryan Unkeless, Steven Rogers, Margot Robbie, Tom Ackerley


Ex Libris - The New York Public Library (Zipporah Films)
Dir and pdr. Frederick Wiseman

Rat Film (MEMORY and Cinema Guild)
Dir. Theo Anthony; pdrs. Riel Roch-Decter, Sebastian Pardo

Strong Island (Netflix)
Dir. Yance Ford; pdrs. Yance Ford, Joslyn Barnes

Whose Streets? (Magnolia Pictures)
Dirs. Sabaah Folayan, Damon Davis; pdrs. Sabaah Folayan, Damon Davis, Jennifer MacArthur, Flannery Miller

The Work (The Orchard and First Look Media)
Dir. Jairus McLeary; pdrs. Alice Henty, Eon McLeary, Jairus McLeary, Miles McLeary


Maggie Betts for Novitiate (Sony Pictures Classics)
Greta Gerwig for Lady Bird (A24)
Kogonada for Columbus (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)
Jordan Peele for Get Out (Universal Pictures)
Joshua Z Weinstein for Menashe (A24)


The Big Sick (Amazon Studios), Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani
Brad’s Status (Amazon Studios), Mike White
Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics), James Ivory
Columbus (Superlative Films/Depth of Field), Kogonada
Get Out (Universal Pictures), Jordan Peele
Lady Bird (A24), Greta Gerwig


Willem Dafoe in The Florida Project (A24)
James Franco in The Disaster Artist (A24)
Daniel Kaluuya in Get Out (Universal Pictures)
Robert Pattinson in Good Time (A24)
Adam Sandler in The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected) (Netflix)
Harry Dean Stanton in Lucky (Magnolia Pictures)


Melanie Lynskey in I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore (Netflix)
Haley Lu Richardson in Columbus (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)
Margot Robbie in I, Tonya (NEON)
Saoirse Ronan in Lady Bird (A24)
Lois Smith in Marjorie Prime (FilmRise)


Mary J. Blige in Mudbound (Netflix)
Timothée Chalamet in Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)
Harris Dickinson in Beach Rats (NEON)
Kelvin Harrison, Jr. in It Comes at Night (A24)
Brooklynn Prince in The Florida Project (A24)


Atlanta (FX Networks)
Creator: Donald Glover; executive producers: Donald Glover, Dianne McGunigle, Paul Simms

Better Things (FX Networks)
Creators: Pamela Adlon, Louis C.K.; executive producers: Dave Becky, M. Blair Breard, Louis C.K., Pamela Adlon

Dear White People (Netflix)
Creator: Justin Simien; executive producers: Yvette Bowser, Justin Simien, Stephanie Allain, Julia Lebedev

Fleabag (Amazon Studios)
Creator: Phoebe Waller-Bridge; executive producers: Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Harry Williams, Jack Williams

Search Party (TBS)
Creators: Sarah-Violet Bliss, Charles Rogers, Michael Showalter; executive producers: Sarah-Violet Bliss, Charles Rogers, Michael Showalter, Tony Hernandez, Lilly Burns


555 (Vimeo)
Creators: Kate Berlant, Andrew DeYoung and John Early

Inconceivable (YouTube)
Creator: Joel Ashton McCarthy

Junior (Blackpills and VICE)
Creator: Zoe Cassavetes

Let Me Die A Nun (Vimeo)
Creator: Sarah Salovaara

The Strange Eyes Of Dr. Myes (YouTube)
Creator: Nancy Andrews

Screen’s senior US critic Tim Grierson was on the nominating committee for best actor and best actress.