The Pusan Film Critics Association has unveiled the winners of the 4th Pusan Film Critics Awards, with the genre-bending Save The Green Planet by Jang Jun-hwan taking Best Picture, Best Actor (Shin Ha-kyun), and Best New Director.

The acclaimed debut work has previously won Best Director at the Moscow International Film Festival and Best Picture at the Puchon International Fantastic Film Festival (PiFan).

Meanwhile, Bong Joon-ho's Memories Of Murder picked up the Best Director and Best Screenplay Award, only days after winning Best Director at the San Sebastian International Film Festival. Both Memories and Save The Green Planet were produced by Tcha Seung-jai's Sidus Corporation, and distributed by CJ Entertainment.

Other winners include Best Actress (Moon So-ri) and Best Supporting Actress (Yoon Yeo-jung) awards to Venice contender A Good Lawyer's Wife, and the Special Jury Prize, Best New Actress (Im Su-jeong), and Best Cinematography (Lee Mo-gae) awards to stylish horror title A Tale Of Two Sisters.

Awards will be presented on October 8 during the Pusan International Film Festival (PIFF).

Although young in comparison to other awards ceremonies, the Pusan Film Critics Awards have gained prominence on the back of their connection with Korea's most important film festival, and with the controversy that has embroiled Korea's other awards ceremonies in recent years.

The Blue Dragon Awards, held in December, was boycotted last year by the award-winning Oasis due to ideological differences with parent company the Chosun Ilbo newspaper, while the Grand Bell Awards have been the centre of controversy for a lack of transparency and past accusations of favouritism.

4th Pusan Film Critics Awards

Best Picture: Save The Green Planet (dir. Jang Jun-hwan)
Best Actor: Shin Ha-kyun (Save The Green Planet)
Best Actress: Moon So-ri (A Good Lawyer's Wife)
Best Director: Bong Joon-ho (Memories of Murder)
Best Screenplay: Bong Joon-ho & Shim Seong-bo (Memories of Murder)
Jury Prize: A Tale Of Two Sisters (dir. Kim Jee-woon)
Best Cinematography: Lee Mo-gae (A Tale Of Two Sisters)
Best Supporting Actor: Kim Gap-soo (Mutt Boy)
Best Supporting Actress: Yoon Yeo-jung (A Good Lawyer's Wife)
Best New Director: Jang Jun-hwan (Save The Green Planet)
Best New Actress: Im Su-jeong (A Tale Of Two Sisters)
Best New Actor: Park Hae-il (Jealousy Is My Middle Name)

Award for Artistic Contribution: Yu Hyun-mok, director of Obaltan (1961), etc.
Lee Pil-woo Award: Lee Sung-choon, cinematographer of Rain Shower (1978), Mulleya Mulleya (1983), etc.