The International Documentary Association (IDA) has announced the films which will vie for the prizes at the annual Distinguished Documentary Achievement Awards to be announced at the benefit gala on Dec 13 in Hollywood.

The awards are presented in four categories - feature length films (see nominees below), short films, limited series and continuing series. The gala will also see career achievement awards go to Ken Burns and Agnes Varda.

Feature length nominees

A Child's Century Of War (Shelley Saywell, producer/writer/director)

Amandla! A Revolution In Four Part Harmony (Lee Hirsch, producer/director)

Blue Vinyl (Daniel B Gold & Judith Helfand, producers/directors)

Mai's America (Marlo Poras, producer/director)

Senorita Extraviada (Lourdes Portillo, producer/director)

Sister Helen (Rebecca Cammisa & Rob Fruchtman, producers/directors)

Small Town Ectasy (Jay Blumenfield, director)

Spellbound (Jeff Blitz, producer/director)

Stealing The Fire (John S Friedman/Eric Nadler, directors)

Stone Reader (Mark Moskowitz, producer/director)