Yari veteran Katz joins Gill and Sacker venture

Robert Katz has joined Mark Gill and Neil Sacker in their new independent venture The Film Department as president of production. He had been vice-president of production for The Yari Film Group.

Purnell takes UK Culture Secretary role

As new UK prime minister Gordon Brown unveiled his cabinet, James Purnell replaced Tessa Jowell as culture secretary. The Department for Culture, Media and Sport now has Margaret Hodge - who was previously at the Department of Trade and Industry - as minister.

Dobson to lead Australians In Film

Los Angeles-based public relations executive Susie Dobson has been elected president and CEO of the board of directors of Australians in Film, the organisation for expatriate Australians in the US entertainment industry. Producer/business affairs consultant Paula Paizes has been elected as the organisation's vice-president, and manager/producer Rob Marsala as secretary/chairman of the board.

Warner's German arm promotes Rothblum

Warner Bros International Television Distribution has promoted Sylvia Rothblum to senior vice-president and managing director, German-speaking territories. She had been vice-president and managing director, German-speaking territories, since 2002, and is based in Munich.

European Producers Club elects board

The European Producers Club (EPC) has elected a new board of directors. In their posts for the next two years are Jean Cazes (Initial Productions, France), Antoine de Clermont-Tonnerre (Mact, France), Patrick Quinet (Artemis Productions, Belgium), Antonio Saura (Zebra Producciones, Spain) and Ruth Waldburger (Vega Film, Switzerland). The executive committee is comprised of Cazes as president, Constantin's Martin Moszkowicz as vice-president and UGC YM's Yves Marmion as treasurer.