Director Jim Jarmusch is set to receive this year's Carrosse d'Or statue from France's Societe des Realisateurs de Films (SRF).

The prize will be awarded on May 17 during the 40th anniversary of Directors Fortnight at the Cannes Film Festival.

The prize, created by the SRF in 2002, is an homage given to a director for his or her cinematic innovations, courage and intransigence.

Jarmusch's Stranger Than Paradise , which ran in the Fortnight in 1984 and won the Camera d'Or that year, will be screened on May 15.

Former Carrosse d'Or winners include Jacques Rozier, Clint Eastwood, Nanni Moretti, Sembene Ousmane, David Cronenberg and, most recently, Alain Cavalier.