The former svp of technology at Universal Pictures and founder/chairman of the Inter-Society’s Digital Cinema Forum will collect the honour in Las Vegas on Apr 24.

The award honours an individual who has made “outstanding long-term contributions leading to the overall improvement of the motion picture experience.”

“Jerry epitomises the purpose of the Ken Mason award – he has been an instrumental leader toward excellence in the cinema experience,” National Association Of Theatre Owners president and CEO John Fithian said.

“His guidance of the ISDCF has enabled the significant industry collaboration to address critical digital cinema-related issues. Exhibitors are undoubtedly grateful for his tremendous service to our industry.”

Previous recipients include Ken Mason, Barry Reardon, Al Shapiro, Bud Stone, Ioan Allen, Mark Christiansen, Sid Ganis and Gary Weaver.

CinemaCon is scheduled to run in Las Vegas from Apr 23-26.