Mikhail Kalatozishvili's Wild Field won the top prize, l'Etoile d'Or, at the 8th edition of the Marrakech International Film Festival.

The Shaft , from China's Zhang Chi, earned the Jury Prize.

Melissa Leo, the star of Courtney Hunt's Sundance grand jury prize winner Frozen River, took the Best Actress prize: and Eero Aho, of Aku Louhimies' Tears Of April, won Best Actor.

The festival honoured actresses Sigourney Weaver and Michelle Yeoh and presented homages to directors Andrei Konchalovsky and the late Youssef Chahine.

Barry Levinson presided over the competition jury alongside fellow members Mariama Barry, Joaquim de Almeida, Ghita El Khayat, Hugh Hudson, Sebastian Koch, Caterina Murino, Natacha Regnier and Agusti Villaronga,

The next edition of the Marrakech festival runs December 4 - 12, 2009.