Actress to receive Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film at 33rd London Critics’ Circle Film Awards on Jan 20.

Helena Bonham Carter will receive the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film at the 33rd London Critics’ Circle Film Awards, which take place on Jan 20 at the May Fair Hotel.

Previous recipients of the award include Dirk Bogarde, Richard Attenborough, Julie Walters, Judi Dench, Nicolas Roeg, Quentin Tarantino and Kristin Scott Thomas.

“To be chosen for this award is a surprise and an honour,” commented Bonham Carter. “It’s always nice when critics say something nice about you for a change, and especially the critics in your hometown.”

Chair of The Critics’ Circle Film Awards, Rich Cline, added: “Helena Bonham Carter is an undisputed star of British cinema and one the Critics’ Circle is absolutely delighted to honour. Her filmography is packed with iconic, offbeat characters, each of which she invests with an unusual spark of humanity.”

This year’s awards will be held in aid of their charity partner Missing People, with the full list of nominations to be announced next Tuesday (Dec 18).