The National Board Of Review Of Motion Pictures (NBR) will award $75,000 in student grants in 2008 with this year's allocation including ten schools near or around the tri-state New York area.

Each participating school will receive between $3,000 and $11,500 to be distributed to its top film-makers based on their submitted short films. Both undergraduate and graduate students were eligible to submit their work for grant consideration.

The schools include Brooklyn College, City College, Columbia University, Ghetto Film School, Hunter College, Ithaca College, New York University, School Of Visual Arts, SUNY Purchase and Wesleyan University.

In addition to the student grants, the Charlie Andrews Award For Film History will be presented to two Wesleyan students. The inaugural Marion Carter Green Award honouring the former NBR board member was awarded to Stephen Neary of New York University. The NBR also awarded $3,000 to the Children's Aid Society to purchase film and video equipment.

In addition to the grant money, each student will receive a one-year membership to the NBR screening group and participate in the year-end awards vote.

'As we approach our centennial year, we are thrilled to award these talented film students,' NBR president Annie Schulhof said. 'We are so pleased with the growth of our student grant philanthropy and we are committed to continue our outreach next year.'