Boys State_Photo_0103

Source: Apple TV

‘Boys State’

The Directors Guild of America (DGA) has named the nominees for its television, commercials and documentary awards. 

Included in the list are the directors of feature documentaries The Truffle Hunters, My Octopus Teacher, Welcome to Chechnya, Boys State and The Painter And The Thief. 

In the TV categories, British director Julie Anne Robinson gets a nod for her work on Bridgerton in a dramatic series line-up that also includes directors of Ozark, The Mandalorian, Better Call Saul and Homeland. 

The DGA’s TV movie and limited series nominations has Denmark’s Susanne Bier recognised for The Undoing, along with directors of The Queen’s Gambit, Hamilton, WandaVision and Little Fires Everywhere

Winners will be announced at the 73rd annual DGA Awards ceremony, a private virtual event for Guild members, on April 10. 

Nominations for the DGA’s theatrical feature awards are due to be announced tomorrow (March 9). 

Nominees in major TV and documentary categories (full list here):


Jason Bateman, Ozark, ‘Wartime’ (Netflix)

Jon Favreau, The Mandalorian, ‘Chapter 9: The Marshal’ (Disney+)

Vince Gilligan, Better Call Saul, ‘Bagman’ (AMC)

Lesli Linka Glatter, Homeland, ‘Prisoners of War’ (Showtime) 

Julie Anne Robinson, Bridgerton, ‘Diamond of the First Water’ (Netflix) 



Zach Braff, Ted Lasso, ‘Biscuits’ (Apple TV+) 

MJ Delaney, Ted Lasso, ‘The Hope that Kills You’ (Apple TV+)

Susanna Fogel, The Flight Attendant, ‘In Case of Emergency’ (HBO Max)

Erin O’Malley, Curb Your Enthusiasm, ‘The Surprise Party’ (HBO)

Jeff Schaffer, Curb Your Enthusiasm, ‘The Spite Store’ (HBO) 



Susanne Bier, The Undoing (HBO) 

Scott Frank, The Queen’s Gambit (Netflix) 

Thomas Kail, Hamilton (Disney+) 

Matt Shakman, WandaVision (Disney +) 

Lynn Shelton, Little Fires Everywhere, ‘Find a Way’ (Hulu) 



Micheael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw, The Truffle Hunters (Sony Pictures Classics) 

Pippa Ehrlich and James Reed, My Octopus Teacher (Netflix) 

David France, Welcome to Chechnya (HBO Max) 

Amanda McBaine and Jesse Moss, Boys State (A24) 

Benjamin Ree, The Painter And The Thief (Elevation Pictures)