The Edinburgh International Film Festival (EIFF) (June 19-30) today announced the participants for its 2013 Talent, Composers and Sound Labs, which will include a session with documentary filmmaker Victor Kossakovsky.

The Talent Lab will bring together 30 emerging directors, producers and screenwriters with UK and international film professionals.

Talent Lab participants

Writers: Adam Dewar, Ewen Glass, Gail Hackston, Mandy Lee, Mark Robertson, Sharon Walker

Directors: David Lumsden, PJ Palmer

Writers/ Directors: James Alexandrou, Lucy Brydon, Mark Devenport, Silvia Felce, Zak Hanif, Karen Hope, Philip Peel, Siri Rodness, Robert Samuels, Dan Smyth, Ian Waugh

Producers: Sarah Brocklehurst, Rosie Crerar, Rob Darnell, Emma Louise Dodds, Edward Hemming, Roxanne Holman, Jessica Levick, Lisa Mackintosh, James Pearcey, Ken Petrie, Kathy Speirs

Sound Lab participants

Bethan Parkes, Ross Buchanan, Adrianne Louise Calgie, Patrick Collins, Jonathan Crosbie, Michael John Cumming, Ugne Pikutyte, Simone Smith

Composer Lab participants

Sonia Allori, Matthew Hogg, Francis Macdonald, Shona Mackay, Brian McAlpine, Rory McIntyre, Conrad Molleson,  Matthew Whiteside

Guests at this year’s Talent Lab will include representatives from Bankside Films, Vertigo Films, The Salt Company, Film4, Young Films and Slate Films.

The Lab is supported through the Scottish Government’s Edinburgh Festivals Expo Fund, by Creative Scotland, Creative Skillset and Creative England.

Industry events at EIFF 2013 include sessions on low budget filmmaking with the iFeatures team, a masterclass in digital distribution supported by Creative Skillset and a session on short film development with Collabor8te.

Speakers include cinematographer Rob Hardy and documentary filmmaker Victor Kossakovsky.

Chris Fujiwara, artistic director of EIFF, said: “I’m very happy that our festival will once again this year contribute to the development of filmmaking talent through these vital programmes.

“The high level of accomplishment among the participants is an encouraging sign for the future of cinema.”