first cow

Source: Film Science

‘First Cow’

First Cow and Bacurau have been named best picture and best foreign-language film respectively by the New York Film Critics Circle (NYFCC). 

In the 2020 awards, Chloe Zhao was named best director for Nomadland, Sidney Flanigan best actress for Never Rarely Sometimes Always and Delroy Lindo best actor for Da 5 Bloods. 

The NYFCC picked Wolfwalkers as the year’s best animated film and Time as its best documentary. 

Kelly Reichardt’s drama First Cow has been nominated for four of the upcoming Gotham Awards and is expected to be a contender in a number of the year’s award races. 

Brazilian horror adventure Bacurau, from directors Juliano Dornelles and Kleber Mendonca Filho, was joint winner of the Jury Prize at last year’s Cannes festival.

Shabier Kirchner took the New York critics’ best cinematographer award for his work on Steve McQueen’s Small Axe series.

Full list of winners:

Best Picture
First Cow

Best Director
Chloe Zhao, Nomadland 

Best Screenplay
Eliza Hittman, Never Rarely Sometimes Always 

Best Actress
Sidney Flanigan, Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Best Actor
Delroy Lindo, Da 5 Bloods 

Best Supporting Actress
Maria Bakalova, Borat Subsequent Moviefilm 

Best Supporting Actor
Chadwick Boseman, Da 5 Bloods 

Best Cinematographer
Shabier Kirchner, Small Axe 

Best Animated Film

Best Non-Fiction Film (Documentary)

Best Foreign Language Film

Best First Film
Radha Blank, The 40-Year-Old Version 

Special Award
Kino Lorber, Kino Marquee Virtual Cinema 

Special Award
Spike Lee, ‘New York New York’ Love Letter