Grainger David, Gerard McMurray & Ephraim Walker and Leah Wolchok join innovative programme that supports independent filmmaking.

The San Francisco Film Society (SFFS) has unveiled the filmmakers who have been awarded FilmHouse Residencies starting in August 2013.

Made possible by the Kenneth Rainin Foundation with additional support from the San Francisco Film Commission, the innovative programme makes office space available free of charge to independent filmmakers actively engaged in various stages of film production.

In addition, FilmHouse residents benefit from a guest speaker series, including presentations by leading industry professionals, as well as resident-led workshops and access to SFFS networking events.

This term’s participants and their current projects are as follows:

  • Grainger David - Nocturne (narrative feature, screenwriting, 12-month residency)
  • Gerard McMurray & Ephraim Walker - Riders (narrative feature, pre-production, 12-month residency)
  • Leah Wolchok - Very Semi-Serious (documentary feature, post-production, 12-month residency)

The panelists who reviewed the applicants’ submissions were Ted Hope, SFFS executive director, Rivkah Beth Medow, filmmaker and Kenneth Rainin Foundation board member, Susannah Greason Robbins, executive director of San Francisco Film Commission, Michele Turnure-Salleo, director of Filmmaker360, and Trinity West, FilmHouse coordinator.

“We were impressed with the calibre of applicants and it was extremely difficult narrowing it down to only three residents. The selection committee felt the diversity of these filmmakers’ backgrounds and the topics explored in their projects would make them great additions to the FilmHouse family,” commented the jury.

The next application period opens in October for the next term of FilmHouse Residencies beginning in February 2014.