Hou Hsiao-Hsien’s period drama took eight awards including best film, best director and best actress.

Best actor Lee Byung-hun and Best actress Shu Qi

Scroll down for the full list of winners

The Assassin dominated this year’s Asian Film Awards, winning eight of the 15 prizes announced on the night.

The period drama, which premiered in competition at last year’s Cannes Film Festival, scooped the ceremony’s major awards for best film and best director for Hou Hsiao-Hsien, as well as best actress for star Shu Qi [pictured right].

The film also took prizes for supporting actress for Zhou Yun, cinematography for Mark Lee Ping-bing, original music for Lim Giong, as well as further awards for production design and best sound.

Other winners on the night included best actor Lee Byung-hun [pictured left] for his role in Min-ho Woo’s crime drama Inside Men, Asano Tadanobu for his supporting turn in Kiyoshi Kurosawa’s romantic fantasy Journey To The Shore, and Jia Zhangke for his Mountains May Depart screenplay.

The ceremony’s lifetime achievement awards were presented to veteran actress Kiki Kirin (An, Returner) and revered choreographer Yuen Woo-ping, whose credits range from early Jackie Chan film Drunken Master to Quentin Tarantino’s Kill Bill and the recent Ip Man 3 and Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon: Sword Of Destiny.

Full list of winners:

Best Film: The Assassin

Best Director: Hou Hsiao-hsien, The Assassin

Best Actor: Lee Byung-hun, Inside Men

Best Actress: Shu Qi, The Assassin

Best Supporting Actor: Asano Tadanobu, Journey to the Shore

Best Supporting Actress: Zhou Yun, The Assassin

Best Newcomer: Jessie Li, Port of Call

Best Screenplay: Jia Zhangke, Mountains May Depart

Best Editing: William Chang Suk-pink, Chu Ka-yat, Liao Ching-sung, Wong Hoi, Philip Yung, Port of Call

Best Cinematography: Mark Lee Ping-bing, The Assassin

Best Original Music: Lim Giong, The Assassin

Best Costume Design: Lee Ji-yeon, Shim Hyun-seob, The Throne

Best Production Design: Hwarng Wern-ying, The Assassin

Best Visual Effects: Prasad Sutar, Bajirao Mastani

Best Sound: Chu Shih-Yi, Tu Duu-Chih, Wu Shu-Yao, The Assassin

Lifetime Achievement Award: Yuen Wo-ping, Kiki Kirin

AFA Outstanding Contribution Award: Li Qian-kuan

AFA Next Generation Award: Yoo Ah-in

Asian Film Awards 10th Anniversary Special Award: Feng Xiao-gang