The Lobster received seven nominations; 45 Years and Macbeth received six each.

The Lobster

Yorgos Lanthimos’s The Lobster topped this year’s Moet British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs) nominations, which were presented in London this morning (Nov 3) by Gemma Chan and Thomas Brodie-Sangster.

The film garnered seven nods including Best British Independent Film, Best Director, Best Screenplay and Producer of the Year.

Andrew Haigh’s 45 Years and Justin Kurzel’s Macbeth both received six nominations each, receiving acting nods for stars Charlotte Rampling and Tom Courtenay for the former, and Marion Cotillard and Michael Fassbender for the latter.

Asif Kapadi’s documentary Amy, which told the story of the late singer Amy Winehouse, received five nominations, as did John Crowley’s period drama Brooklyn.

Ben Wheatley’s High-Rise and Sarah Gavron’s Suffragette each received four nominations.

Alongside The Lobster, the titles also nominated for Best British Indepedent Film were: 45 Years, Amy, Ex Machina and Macbeth.

As previously announced, Kate Winslet will be presented with the Variety Award for bringing global interest to the UK film industry.

The rest of the winners will be revealed at the The Moët British Independent Film Awards on December 6.

At last year’s BIFA ceremony, Matthew Warchus’ Pride took home multiple awards including Best British Independent Film.

Full list of nominees:

Best British Independent Film sponsored by Moët & Chandon

45 Years, Tristan Goligher, Andrew Haigh

Amy, James Gay-Rees, Asif Kapadia

Ex Machina, Andrew Macdonald, Allon Reich, Alex Garland

The Lobster, Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Efthymis Filippou, Yorgos Lanthimos

Macbeth, Iain Canning, Emile Sherman, Laura Hastings-Smith, Todd Louiso, Jacob Koskoff, Michael Lesslie, Justin Kurzel

Best Director

45 Years, Andrew Haigh

Amy, Asif Kapadia

Ex Machina, Alex Garland

The Lobster, Yorgos Lanthimos

Macbeth, Justin Kurzel

Best Actress sponsored by MAC

Marion Cotillard, Macbeth

Carey Mulligan, Suffragette

Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years

Saorise Ronan, Brooklyn

Alicia Vikander, The Danish Girl

Best Supporting Actress

Helen Bonham Carter, Suffragette

Olivia Colman, The Lobster

Anne-Marie Duff, Suffragette

Sienna Miller, High-Rise

Julie Walters, Brooklyn

Most Promising Newcomer sponsored by The London Edition

Agyness Deyn, Sunset Song

Mia Goth, The Survivalist

Abigail Hardingham, Nina Forever

Milo Parker, Mr Holmes

Bel Powley, A Royal Night Out

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director) sponsored by 3 Mills Studios

The Hallow, Corin Hardy

Kajaki: The True Story, Paul Katis

Nina Forever, Chris & Ben Blaine

Slow West, John Maclean

The Survivalist, Stephen Fingleton

The Discovery Award sponsored by Raindance

AAAAAAAAH!, Andrew Starke, Steve Oram

Burn Burn Burn, Daniel-Konrad Cooper, Tim Phillips, Charlie Covell, Chanya Button

Orion: The Man Who Would Be King, Jeanie Finlay

The Return, Oliver Nias

Winter, Tilly Wood, Paula Crickard, Heidi Greensmith

Best Screenplay sponsored by BBC Films

45 Years, Andrew Haigh

Brooklyn, Nick Hornby

Ex Machina, Alex Garland

High-Rise, Amy Jump

The Lobster, Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthymis Filippou

Best Actor sponsored by Movado

Tom Courtenay, 45 Years

Colin Farrell, The Lobster

Michael Fassbender, Macbeth

Tom Hardy, Legend

Tom Hiddleston, High-Rise

Best Supporting Actor

Luke Evans, High-Rise

Brendan Gleeson, Suffragette

Domhnall Gleeson, Brooklyn

Sean Harris, Macbeth

Ben Whishaw, The Lobster

Best Documentary

Amy, James Gay-Rees, Asif Kapadia

Dark Horse: The Incredible True Story of Dream Alliance, Judith Dawson, Louise Osmond

How to Change the World, Bous De Jong, Al Morrow, Jerry Rothwell

Palio, James Gay-Rees, John Hunt, Cosima Spender

A Syrian Love Story, Elhum Shakerifar, Sean McAllister

Producer of the Year

Tristian Goligher, 45 Years

James Gay-Rees, Amy

Paul Katis, Andrew de Lotbiniere, Kajaki: The True Story

Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Yorgos Lanthimos, Lee Magiday, The Lobster

David A. Hughes, David Moores, The Violators

Outstanding Achievement in Craft

Adam Arkapaw, Cinematography – Macbeth

Mark Digby, Production Design – Ex Machina

Chris King, Editing – Amy

Fiona Weir, Casting – Brooklyn

Andrew Whitehurst, Visual Effects – Ex Machina

Best British Short Film

Balcony, Tom Kimberly, Ali Mansuri, Toby Fell-Holden

Crack, Joseph Taussig, Peter King

Edmond, Emilie Jouffroy, Nina Gantz

Love Is Blind, Lizzie Brown, Dan Hodgson

Manoman, Kamilla Kristiane Hodøl, Simon Cartwright

Best International Independent Film

Carol, Elizabeth Karlsen, Stephen Woolley, Christine Vachon, Phyllis Nagy, Todd Haynes

Force Majeure, Erik Hemmendorff, Marie Kjellson, Philippe Bober, Ruben Östlund

Girlhood, Bénédicte Couvreur, Céline Sciamma

Room, Ed Guiney, David Gross, Emma Donoghue, Lenny Abrahamson

Son of Saul, Gábor Sipos, Gábor Rajna, Cara Royer, László Nemes