The New York Film Critics Circle (NYFCC), the first of the US critics groups to announce their annual awards, has named Zero Dark Thirty Best Picture and its director Kathryn Bigelow Best Director.

The NYFCC gave its Best Screenplay award to Tony Kushner for Lincoln and its Best Foreign Film award to Amour.

David France’s How to Survive a Plague was voted Best First Film, Frankenweenie Best Animated Film and The Central Park Five Best Non-fiction Film (Documentary).

The Circle’s Best Actress award went to Rachel Weisz for The Deep Blue Sea and its Best Actor prize to Daniel Day-Lewis for Lincoln.

The Best Supporting Actress award went to Sally Field for Lincoln and the Best Supporting Actor prize went to Matthew McConaughey for Bernie and Magic Mike.

Greig Fraser was named Best Cinematographer for his work on Zero Dark Thirty.