No Man's Land producer, Cedomir Kolar is to head the jury for the upcoming Locarno film festival (Aug 1 -11), while the event's "Indian Summer" retrospective will include Rajiv Menon's Tamil adaptation of Jane Austen's Sense and Sensibility, Finding One's Self (Kandukondain Kandukondain), and politically active Bengali filmmaker Mrinal Sen's This, My Land.

Also sitting on the international competition jury will be Bread And Tulips actor Bruno Ganz, Iranian director Jafar Panahi, Indian actor-producer Aamir Kahn, Hungarian filmmaker Bela Tarr, film critic Emanuel Levy, and actress-journalist Niloufar Pazira.

The festival's separate video competition jury will be headed by Jose Maria Prado, director of Spain's Filmoteca Espanola and will include Oscar-winning cinematographer Dante Spinotti, Brazilian video artist Arthur Omar, Argentinian director Pablo Trapero and French actress-director Eva Truffaut.

The Leopards of Tomorrow section for emerging talents will be judged by Australian director Ray Argall, UK producer Simon Perry, German-Swiss director Michael Beltrami, Swiss producer Joelle Come, and Italy's Telepiu commissioning editor Fabrizio Grosoli.

Locarno will also dedicate its new In Progress sidebar to six writers, who will discuss their relationship with cinema and the reciprocal influences of screenwriting and literature. The writers are: Antonio Tabucchi (Italy), Arnold Wesker (UK), Abraham Yeoshua (Israel), Pietro Markaris (Greece), Anita Desai (India), Martin Suter (Switzerland).

At the festival, Sydney Pollack will be awarded a career Leopard Of Honour while Portuguese-French-based producer Paulo Branco will be given the inaugural Raimondo Rezzonico prize for best independent producer.

The Swiss event will also feature a programme of Afghan cinema and a retrospective of films by Canadian-born filmmaker Allan Dwan.

The festival will unveil its full line-up around July 15th.

"Indian Summer" retrospective:

Ramesh Sippy's Flames (Sholay), 1975
Satyajit Ray's The Chess Players (Shatranj Ke Khilari), 1977
John Abraham's Donkey In A Brahmin's Village (Agraharthil Kazhuthai), 1977
Shyam Benegal's Possessed (Junoon), 1978
Girish Kamad's Once Upon A Time (Ondanondu Kaaladalli), 1978
Mrinal Sen's In Search Of Famine (Aakaler Sandhaney), 1980
Adoor Gopalakrishnan's Rat Trap (Elippathayam), Malayalam. 1981
K Balachander's Water, Water (Thaneer, Thaneer), 1981
Muzzafar Ali's Umrao Jaan, 1981
Govind Nihalani's Half Truth (Ardh Satya), 1983
Nirad Mahapatra's The Mirage (Maya Miriga), 1983
Ketan Mehta's Spices (Mirch Masala), 1986
Shekhar Kapur's Mr. India, 1987
Balu Mahendra's The House (Veedu), 1987
Goutam Ghose's The Voyage Beyond (Antarjali Yatra), 1987
Jahnu Barua's The Catastrophe (Halodhia Choraya Baodhan Khai), 1987
Girish Kasaravalli's Tabara's Tale (Tabarana Kathe), 1987
Narsing Rao's Bonded Woman (Dasi), 1988
Shaji Karun's The Birth (Piravi), 1988
Aaravindan's Masquerade (Marattam), 1988
Mani Kaul's Siddheshwari, 1989
Buddhadeb Dasgupta's The Tiger Man, 1989
Pradip Krishen's In Which Annie Gives It Those Ones, 1989
Ismail Merchant's In Custody, 1993
Saeed Mirza's Naseem, 1995
Aparna Sen's What The Sea Said (Yugant), 1995
Mani Ratnam's The Duo (Iruvar), 1997
Ram Gopal Varma's Satya, 1998
Jayaraj's Play Of God (Kaliyattam), 1998
Santosh Sivan's The Terrorist, 1998
Amoll Palekar's The Raw Mango (Kairee), 1999
Rajiv Menon's Finding One's Self (Kandukondain, Kandukondain), 2000
Mrinal Sen's This, My Land, 2002