Arsen Anton Ostojic's No One's Son picked up six of the 16 Golden Arena awards at the 55th Pula Film Festival, including best film, best director and best actor.

The crime drama - Ostojic's second feature - about a crippled Croatian soldier in search of his identity also won the Croatian critics' award.

The second big winner was Vinko Bresan's Will Not End There which picked up four awards and the audience award.

Goran Rusinovic's Buick Riviera won the best screenplay Golden Arena and the foreign critics award.

Zrinko Ogresta's Karlovy Vary competition entry Behind Glass received the best cinematography and best lead actress awards.

The jury was comprised of actress Jagoda Kaloper, writer Nedjeljko Fabrio, film theorist Nikica Gilic, actor Niksa Kuselj and editor Martin Tomic.

In the international competition:

  • Claude Chabrol's The Girl Cut In Two won best film
  • Mike Leigh won the best director for Happy-Go-Lucky
  • Chinese actress Liu Weiwei received the prize for best actor or actress in a leading role in Wang Xiaoshuai's In Love We Trust.

The international jury was comprised of Screen International's correspondent Edna Fainaru; Joel Chapron, the selector of Middle and Eastern European films at the Cannes Film Festival; Paz Lazaro, the programme manager of Berlinale's Panorama; Fernanda Silva, the director of Festroia festival; and British film critic Phillip Bergson.


Best director: Arsen Anton Ostojic (No One's Son)

Best film: No One's Son

Best screenplay: Goran Rusinovic and Miljenko Jergovic (Buick Riviera)

Best lead actress: Jadranka Djokic (Behind Glass)

Best lead actor: Alen Liveric (No One's Son)

Best supporting actress: Nada Gacesic-Livakovic (Kino Lika)

Best supporting actor: Leon Lucev (Will Not End There)

Best debutant actor or actress award: Areta Curkovic in Dalibor Matanic's (Kino Lika)

Best special effects: Drago Poldrugac and Marko Poldrugac (No One's Son)

Best sound: Damir Kljucaric and Blaz Andracic (No One's Son)

Best make-up: Mojca Gorogranc (Kino Lika)

Best costume: Zeljka Franulovic (Will Not End There)

Best art director: Mario Ivezic (Will Not End There)

Best original score: Mate Matisic (No One's Son)

Best editing: Sandra Botica Bresan (Will Not End There)

Best cinematography: Davorin Gecl (Behind Glass)