Screen's Stars of Tomorrow 2004 - Emily Blunt, Benedict Cumberbatch, James McAvoy

Source: Gage Skidmore, Gordon Correll, Georges Baird

Benedict Cumberbatch, Emily Blunt and James McAvoy

Screen’s inaugural Stars of Tomorrow includes some of the biggest names in acting and filmmaking today.

Future Sherlock Holmes, Mary Poppins and Professor Charles Xavier stars – Benedict Cumberbatch, Emily Blunt and James McAvoy – were among the actors selected by Screen in 2004.

The filmmakers have gone on to write, direct or produce more projects both at home and abroad. For example, Phil Traill has gone on the direct episodes of hit sitcoms Fresh Off the Boat and The Middle while Cris Cole has written and executive produced his series Mad Dogs for the UK and the US. The entire list from 2004 is below.


  • Fraser Ayres
  • Antonia Bernath
  • Emily Blunt
  • Barney Clark
  • Noel Clarke
  • Benedict Cumberbatch
  • Oliver Dimsdale
  • Rupert Friend
  • Leo Gregory
  • Nigel Harman
  • Jody Latham
  • James McAvoy
  • Steven Robertson
  • Kelly Reilly
  • Ashley Walters
  • Michelle Ryan
  • Sophie Hunter
  • Anna Maxwell Martin
  • Maxine Peake
  • Natalie Press


  • Andrea Arnold, writer-director
  • Alicia Duffy, writer-director
  • Simon Ellis, writer-director
  • Shan Khan, writer-director
  • Dan Reed, writer-director
  • Ben Miller, writer-director
  • Chris Shepherd, writer-director
  • Phil Traill, writer-director
  • Paul Whittington, writer-director
  • David Morrissey, director
  • Yousaf Ali Khan, director
  • Brian Kelly, director
  • Morag McKinnon, director
  • Michael Baig-Clifford, director
  • Matthew Thompson, director
  • Sam Walker, director
  • Stef Penney, writer
  • Avie Luthra, writer
  • Kate Gartside, writer
  • Cris Cole, writer
  • Esther Douglas and Fiona Neilson, producers
  • Rebekah Gilbertson, producers
  • Alex O’Neal, producers
  • Lachlan MacKinnon, producers
  • Stella Nwimo, producers
  • Tora Young, producers
  • Miranda Robinson, producers
  • Adrian Sturges, producers


  • Jacqueline Abrahams, production designer
  • Richard Chester, composer
  • Lisa Hall and Stuart Biddlecombe, production designer and cinematographer
  • Jonathan Goldstein, composer
  • Jason Watts, flame Artist
  • Martin Swann, editor
  • Nanu Segal, cinematographer
  • Matthew Smith, prosthetic make-up artist



  • Stripe Erceg
  • Sibel Kekilli
  • Wotan Wilke Moehring
  • Denis Moschitto
  • Johanna Wokalek
  • Matthias Schweighoefer
  • Jana Pallaske


  • Christian Alvart, writer-director
  • Marcus Mittermeier, actor-director
  • Thomas Wendrich, actor-director-writer
  • Jan-Henrik Stahlberg, actor-director-writer
  • Hans Steinbichler, director