The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) have announced their nominees for top honours for 2006.

The Original Screenplay nominees are:

Babel (Guillermo Arriaga)
Little Miss Sunshine (Michael Arndt)
The Queen (Peter Morgan)
Stranger Than Fiction (Zach Helm)
United 93 (Paul Greengrass).

Adapted screenplay nominees are:

Borat (screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Peter Baynham and Dan Mazer. Story by Baron Cohen, Baynham, Hines and Todd Phillips)
The Departed (screenplay by William Monahan. Based on Infernal Affairs, written by Alan Mak and Felix Chong)
The Devil Wears Prada (screenplay by Aline Brosh McKenna. Based on the novel by Lauren Weisberger)
Little Children (screenplay by Todd Field and Tom Perrotta. Based on the novel by Perrotta)
Thank You for Smoking (screenplay by Jason Reitman. Based on the novel by Christopher Buckley).

Eligible films were released in 2006 and produced under the jurisdiction of Writers Guild of America, East and West or affiliate guilds in Australia, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, and New Zealand.

There were 252 films eligible for nomination in the categories of original screenplay (147) and adapted screenplay (105).

The 2007 Writers Guild Awards will be held on Feb 11 in Los Angeles and New York simultaneously.