Twelve features have been submitted for consideration in the animated feature film category for the 80th Academy Awards.

The 12 submitted features are: Alvin And The Chipmunks, Aqua Teen Hunger Force Colon Movie Film For Theaters, Bee Movie, Beowulf, Meet The Robinsons, Persepolis, Ratatouille, Shrek The Third, The Simpsons Movie, Surf's Up, Tekkonkinkreet, and TMNT.

Alvin And The Chipmunks, Beowulf and Persepolis have not yet had their required Los Angeles qualifying run. The submitted features must fulfil the general release requirements and meet all the category's other qualifying rules before they can advance in the voting process.

Under the rules for this category, a maximum of three films can be nominated in a year in which the field of eligible entries number between eight and 16.

Films submitted in the animated feature film category also may qualify for Academy Awards in other categories, including best picture, provided they meet the requirements for those categories.

The 80th Academy Awards nominations will be announced on January 22, 2008. The awards will be handed out at the Kodak Theatre in Hollywood on February 24, 2008.