Those being courted include Oscar winners Asghar Farhadi, Jean Dujardin, Michel Hazanavicius and Octavia Spencer as well as a strong British contingent led by John Battsek, Nigel Sinclair, Sean Bean and Andy Serkis.

Also on the list are Jonah Hill, Jessica Chastain, the Dardenne Brothers, Matthew McConaughey, Bérénice Bejo, Richard E Grant, Michelle Yeoh and Diego Luna.

The executive roster includes David Glasser, Howard Cohen and Frederick Huntsberry.

Academy top brass said those who accept the invitation will be the only additions in 2012 to the Academy’s roster of members. Voting membership has hovered just below 6,000 members since 2003.