Sherak will serve his third consecutive one-year term of the Academy Of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences.

Producers branch governor Hawk Koch was elected first vice-president, executives branch governor Robert Rehme was elected to one vice-president post and writers branch governor Phil Robinson was re-elected to the other vice-president post.

Short films and feature animation branch governor John Lasseter was elected treasurer and actors branch governor Annette Bening was re-elected secretary. 

Meanwhile Winfrey will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award and James Earl Jones and make-up artist Dick Smith will collect honorary awards. All three will collect the honours at the Academy’s third Annual Governors Awards dinner on Nov 12 in Hollywood.