The American Film Institute (AFI) announced its ten films of the year ahead of the awards luncheon in Los Angeles on January 15.

The honourees in alphabetical order are: Coraline (pictured), The Hangover, The Hurt Locker, The Messenger, Precious: Based On The Novel ‘Push’ By Sapphire, A Serious Man, A Single Man, Sugar, Up, and Up In The Air.

“AFI Awards 2009 is the tenth chapter in a century-long programme to honor the artists and their work,” AFI president and CEO Gazzale said. “This programme celebrates the creative community – not competition – and it is in this spirit that the institute brings America’s storytellers together to acknowledge their contributions to our nation’s rich cultural heritage.”