Norman Jewison is to receivethe American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Board of Governors Award, whichis presented annually to an individual who has made a significant and enduringimpression on the art of filmmaking. The Board of Governors Award is the onlyrecognition that the ASC bestows on individuals who are not cinematographersand will be presented on Feb 16 at the 17th Annual ASC Outstanding AchievementAwards in Los Angeles

'Norman Jewison is acomplete film-maker who is creating an extraordinary body of work,' awardscommittee chairman Owen Roizman said in a statement: 'His films range fromdark and intense dramas to uplifting fantasies and musicals produced for bothtelevision and cinema release. The common denominator is that he always touchesyour heart and soul.' Jewison received best director Oscar nominations forIn The Heat Of The Night (1967), FiddlerOn The Roof (1971) and Moonstruck (1987). His pictures have earned 12 Academy Awardsand 46 Academy nominations and he received the Academy's Irving BThalberg Award in 1999.