Other winners include Drifters and box office hit A Man Called Ove.

The Here After

Magnus von Horn’s The Here After was the big winner at last night’s Guldbagge awards in Sweden.

The film, produced by Zentropa Sweden and Lava Film, was selected for Cannes Directors’ Fortnight 2015. The drama isabout a young man who returns home after serving time in prison, but is not forgiven by the local community, 

The Here After won best film, best director and best supporting actor (Mats Blomgren).

Another newcomer, Peter Gronlund, won five Guldbagge prizes for his debut film Drifters, a low-budget feature produced by B-Reel. The film won best script for Gronlund and best actress for Malin Levanon.

Hannes Holm’s A Man Called Ove, a current box-office smash hit, won best actor for Rolf Lassgard. Ove also won the audience award and the prize for best makeup.

Other winners included Beata Gardeler’s Flocking, which won three prizes included best supporting actress for Eva Melander.

David Sandberg’s worldwide audience hit Kung Fury won best short – it has been seen more than 23 million times on YouTube.

The best documentary award went to Detained by Anna Persson and Shaon Chakraborty.

Best foreign film was Leviathan by Andrej Zvjagintsev.

Despite going in with five nominations each, Lisa Aschan’s White People and Sanna Lenken’s My Skinny Sister left empty-handed.

The Guldbagge Awards, presented by the Swedish Film Institute, are Sweden’s leading film awards and have been presented since 1964.