The director and star of awards season frontrunner Argo will collect the Modern Master Award at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival on Jan 26.

The award was established in 1995 to honour “an individual who has enriched our culture through his/her multi-faceted accomplishments in the motion picture industry.” Affleck previously directed The Town and Gone Baby Gone.

Prior recipients include Michael Douglas, Anthony Hopkins, Diane Keaton, Sean Penn, George Clooney, Cate Blanchett and Christopher Nolan.  

“Affleck has come into his own as a multi-dimensional artist with Argo,” said festival executive director Roger Durling. “He embodies what the Modern Master Award is all about, and we’re thrilled to honor him this year.”

The festival is scheduled to run from Jan 24-Feb 3, 2013.