Familiar names making the fortnight grade include Christoffer Boe and Louis Garrel

The lineup for the 2010 edition of Directors’ Fortnight was announced Tuesday in Paris. This is the first vintage under the artistic direction of Frederic Boyer who last year replaced Olivier Pere in the role.

A robust twenty films are in the main competition with nine short films having been selected as well. There are eleven first films in the Fortnight sidebar which means they will thus be eligible to vie for the Camera d’Or prize which goes to a first film chosen from across all sections.

Two documentaries are in the competition while the two special screenings, Stephen Kijak’s Stones In Exile and Frederik Wiseman’s Boxing Gym are also docs.

Familiar names making the Fortnight grade include Christoffer Boe and Louis Garrel (the latter with a short film).

Director Agnes Varda will be the recipient of the 2010 Carrosse d’Or which is handed out by the Societe des Realisateurs Francais, the organizing body of the Fortnight. The prize goes to a filmmaker who has shown innovative qualities in their works.

Feature competition

(* denotes first film)

Alegria, dir Marina Meliande, Felipe Braganca (Brazil)

*All Good Children, dir Alicia Duffy (UK)

Everything Will Be Fine, dir Christoffer Boe (Denmark, Sweden, France)

*Ano Bisiesto, dir Michael Rowe (Mexico)

*Benda Bilili!, dir Renaud Barret, Florent de la Tullaye (France)

*The Silent House, dir Gustavo Hernandez (Uruguay)

Cleveland Vs. Wall Street, dir: Jean-Stephane Bron (France)

Des Filles En Noir, dir Jean-Paul Civeyrac (France)

*The Wanderer, dir: Avishai Sivan (Israel)

Illegal, dir Olivier Masset-Depasse (Belgium, Luxembourg, France)

The Light Thief, dir: Aktan Arym Kubat (Kyrgyzstan)

*Little Baby Jesus of  Flandr, dir Gust Vandenberghe (Belgium)

The Invisible Eye, dir Diego Lerman (Argentina, France, Spain)

*Picco, dir: Philip Koch (Germany)

Lily Sometimes, dir Fabienne Berthaud (France)

Le Quattro Volte, dir Michelangelo Frammartino (Italy, German, Switzerland)

Shit Year, dir Cam Archer (US)

* We Are What We Are, dir Jorge Michel Grau (Mexico)

Tiger Factory, dir Woo Ming jin (Malaysia)

*Todos Vos Sodes Capitans , dir Oliver Laxe (Spain)

*Two Gates Of Sleep, dir Alistair Banks Griffin (US)

*Un Poison Violent, dir Katell Quillevere (France)

Short Films

Quest, dir Ionut Piturescu (Romania)

A Silent Child, dir Jesper Klevenas (Sweden)

Licht, dir Andre Schreuders (Netherlands)

Mary Last Seen, dir Sean Durkin (US)

Petit Tailleur, dir Louis Garrel (France)

Shadows Of Silence, dir Pradeepan Raveendran (France)

Shikasha, dir Hirabayashi Isamu (Japan)

Three Hours, dir Annarita Zambrano (Italy)

ZedCrew, dir Noah Pink (Zambia)

Special Screenings

Stones In Exile, dir Stephen Kijak (UK)

Boxing Gym, dir Frederik Wiseman (US)