Clark Gregg's Choke starring Sam Rockwell and Anjelica Huston won the narrative feature prize at the 2008 Annual Maui Film Festival while Charles Kinnane's The Human Experience took the documentary award.

In the world cinema programme, Amin Matalqa's Captain Abu Raed was named best narrative feature and Christian Karim Chrobog's War Child took documentary honours.

Jacob Medjuck and Tony Dean Smith's Summerhood won best comedy, while Colin Watkinson's wok on The Fall earned him the cinematography prize.

There was a two-way tie for best ensemble prize between the cast of The Great Buck Howard and Bottle Shock.

The festival ran from June 11-15 and also honoured Pierce Brosnan with the Maverick Award, Virginia Madsen with the Navigator Award, Dennis Quaid with the Galaxy Award and Felicity Huffman with the Nova Award.

For further information and a complete list of winners visit