The Cannes Film Festival has officially announced the names of the directors taking part in Chacun Son Cinema, a feature which will celebrate the 60th anniversary of the event this May.

International filmmakers will shoot a three-minute short which will then be compiled to make up the feature to be screened on May 20 at the Festival and simultaneously on French television.

Festival president Gilles Jacob noted in a statement today: 'Anniversaries are beneficial in that they allow reflection and a new burst of energy.' Jacob called the group of filmmakers gathered, 'Those who have the virtue - all the more critical today - of advancing cinema as an art form. Those who had confidence in Cannes and whom Cannes in turn assisted. Those who were free and wished to give news of themselves via the cinema. In a word, celebrate 60 years of creation by a creation.'

In total 35 directors will make 33 shorts, as the Coen and Dardenne brothers each working in tandem, which will reveal 'their current state of mind as inspired by the motion-picture theatre,' along with a 'promise of Paradise! A family stroll back through memories, dreams, bursts of laughter, cries of alarm and emotion,' said Jacob.

None of the directors enlisted were aware of the others' work and will see the film in full for the first time on May 20.

Below is a list of participating directors:

Theo Angelopoulos
Olivier Assayas
Bille August
Jane Campion
Youssef Chahine
Chen Kaige
Michael Cimino
Ethan & Joel Coen
David Cronenberg
Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne
Manoel De Oliveira
Raymond Depardon
Atom Egoyan
Amos Gitai
Hou Hsiao Hsien
Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu
Aki Kaurismaki
Abbas Kiarostami
Takeshi Kitano
Andrei Konchalovsky
Claude Lelouch
Ken Loach
Nanni Moretti
Roman Polanski
Raoul Ruiz
Walter Salles
Elia Suleiman
Tsai Ming Liang
Gus Van Sant
Lars Von Trier
Wim Wenders
Wong Kar Wai
Zhang Yimou