Hochhäusler to lead Filmmakers of the Present Competition jury.

Locarno has finalised the juries for its 64th edition.

Portuguese producer Paulo Branco [pictured] will head the international competition jury, and will be joined by French actor/director Louis Garrel, German actress Sandra Huller, Swiss filmmaker Bettina Oberli and Italian actress Jasmine Trinca.

Branco, who has produced films including Manoel de Oliveira’s Francisca and Raoul Ruiz’s Mysteries of Lisbon, won the first Raimondo Rezzonico Prize in 2002.

Locarno will have about 20 features in the international competition.

Separately, the jury for the Filmmakers of the Present Competition will be led by German director Christoph Hochhäusler, and jurors will include Italian director Michelangelo Frammartino, Filipino director Raya Martin, Chinese producer Zhu Rikun and the Greek producer/director Athina Rachel Tsangari.

The jury for the Leopards of Tomorrow section (for shorts by filmmakers who haven’t yet made features), will be led by Indian critic/programmer Indu Shrikent alongside Georgian director Bakur Bakuradze, Israeli director and film critic Tom Shoval, Swiss producer Luc Toutounghi and French filmmaker Rebecca Zlotowski.

Critics Anthony Bobeau (France), Robert Koehler (US) and Kong Rithdee (Thailand) will judge the Best First Film from across the debuts in international competition, Filmmakers of the Present and Piazza Grande sections.

The festival runs Aug 3-13.