Sixteen short films from four countries have been selected to compete in the inaugural Tropfest@Tribeca competition in New York City on Sept 23.

Finalists, chosen from a pool of 161 submissions, were each asked to interpret the word 'slice' in their film.

The winner will be chosen by a jury of Rose Byrne, Griffin Dunne and Capote director Bennett Miller - further jurors will be unveiled in September - and the winner will receive a $10,000 cash prize from Target and a trip for two to Australia.

The finalists and their films are: Matthew Kehoe (August): Adam Schram (Autumn Meadow); Chris Cassidy (Bird Strikes); James Wright III (Black Tears); Bob Sentipal (The Closet); Josiah Signor (Homecoming); Alexander Poe (I Graduated, But ); and Joanna Chejade-Bloom and Kiki Allgeier (I Remain the Same).

The list continues with: Ben Thompson (Lemon And Lime). Kathleen Johnsen (Morning); Belinda King (The Picnic); Mike Tenaglia (Slices Only); Daniel Knight (Snookered); Stephen Franciosa Jr (Super Slice); Jonathon Emmerling (The Switch); and Dana Bower (Take Me).

For further details visit