Django Unchained, Les Misérables, Beasts Of The Southern Wild, Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and Amour were ineligible under WGA regulations.

The winners will be announced at the 2013 Writers Guild Awards on Feb 17 during simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York.


Flight, John Gatins [pictured];

Looper, Rian Johnson;

The Master, Paul Thomas Anderson;

Moonrise Kingdom, Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola; and

Zero Dark Thirty, Mark Boal.


Argo, Chris Terrio
Based on a selection from The Master Of Disguise by Antonio J Mendez and the Wired Magazine article The Great Escape by Joshuah Bearman;

Life Of Pi, David Magee

Based on the novel by Yann Martel;

Lincoln, Tony Kushner
Based in part on the book Team Of Rivals: The Political Genius Of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin;

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower, Stephen Chbosky
Based on his book; and

Silver Linings Playbook, David O Russell
Based on the novel by Matthew Quick.


The Central Park Five, Sarah Burns and David McMahon and Ken Burns;

The Invisible War, Kirby Dick;

Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence In The House Of God, Alex Gibney;

Searching For Sugar Man, Malik Bendejelloul;

We Are Legion: The Story Of The Hacktivists, Brian Knappenberger; and

West Of Memphis, Written by Amy Berg and Billy McMillin.

Eligible features must have been exhibited theatrically for at least one week in Los Angeles during 2012 and were written under the WGA’s Minimum Basic Agreement (MBA) or under a bona fide collective bargaining agreement of the Writers Guild Of Canada, Writers Guild Of Great Britain, Irish Playwrights & Screenwriters Guild, or the New Zealand Writers Guild.  Theatrical screenplays produced under the jurisdiction of the WGA or an affiliate Guild must have been submitted for WGA awards consideration.

Eligible documentary submissions must have featured an onscreen writing credit and been exhibited theatrically in Los Angeles or New York for one week during 2012. While credited documentary writers were required to join the WGAW’s Nonfiction Writers Caucus or the WGAE’s Nonfiction Writers Caucus to be considered, scripts need not have been written under WGA jurisdiction to be eligible for awards consideration.