The producers branch executive committee of the Academy Of Motion Picture Arts And Sciences has ruled that the late Anthony Minghella and Sydney Pollack shall be credited with producing The Reader alongside Donna Gigliotti and Redmond Morris.

The executive committee convened because four producers were listed on the credits form submitted for Oscar consideration while Academy rules allow for only three producers except in 'a rare and extraordinary circumstance.'

The body decided that the death of both Minghella and Pollack during production constituted 'rare and extraordinary' and that all four submitted individuals should be named as nominees.

The Academy Awards will be handed out on February 22.