Christian Petzold's The State I Am In and Achim von Borries' England! picked up two awards each in this year's round of honours by the German film critics association Verband Der Deutschen Filmkritik.

Andreas Dresen's The Policewoman (Die Polizistin) and Ben Verbong's family film The Slurb (Das Sams) both came away empty-handed, despite receiving three nominations each (Screendaily Jan 14)

While Petzold's film was named "Best Feature Film" and its editor Bettina Bohler selected for the "Best Editing" category, England! received prizes in the categories "Best Cinematography" (Jutta Pohlmann) and "Best Screenplay" (Achim von Borries, Karin Astrom, and Maria von Heland).

The complete list of prize-winners who will be presented with their awards at a ceremony during the Max Ophuls Preis Film Festival in Saarbrucken on January 24 are:-

Best Feature Film: The State I Am In (Die Innere Sicherheit) by Christian Petzold
Best Feature Film Debut: No Regrets (Nichts Bereuen) by Benjamin Quabeck
Best Main Actor: Jorg Schuttauf (in Berlin Is In Germany)
Best Main Actress: Katrin Sass (in Heidi M.)
Best Documentary: Absolut Warhola by Stanislaw Mucha
Best Screenplay: Achim von Borries, Karin Astrom, Maria von Heland (England!)
Best Cinematography: Jutta Pohlmann (England!)
Best Editing: Bettina Bohler (Die Innere Sicherheit)
Best Film Score: (ex aequo) MoserMeyerDoring ( Dieter Schleip (Die Einsamkeit Der Krokodile)
Best Short Film: Stapelfahrer Klaus by Jorg Wagner and Stefan Prehn

The winners of first four categories were decided by canvassing the association's 320-strong membership, while specially convened juries selected the winners in the other categories.