Su Turhan's Gone Underground, which was one of the first shorts to be shot with the Sony 24p digital high definition camera, is among eight German shorts nominated from 108 entries for this year's German Short Film Awards which will be presented by Culture Minister Julian Nida-Ruemelin at a ceremony in Berlin on November 10.

The eight nominated films, which each receive a premium of $11,686 (DM 25,000) on being nominated to be invested in the preparation or production of a new film, are:

For the category of shorts lasting up to 7 minutes
Cut Away (Dir: Eva Marel Jura)
Wahlverwandtschaften (Dir: Nils Loof)

For the category of shorts lasting up to 15 minutes
Gleisarbeiter (Dir: Patrick Lambertz)
Gone Underground (Dir: Su Turhan)
Die Liebenden Vom Hotel Von Osman (Dir: Idil Uner)
Nass (Dir: Felicitas Korn)
Schneckentraum (Dir: Ivan Sainz-Pardo)
Das Taschenorgan (Dir: Carsten Strauch)

The films will be competing for the German Short Film Award in Gold worth $28,000 (DM 60,000) and an Award in Silver worth $18,700 (DM 40,000).